Russell Wilson Is The Real Deal My Friends

Tom Kessenich

Russell Wilson Is The Real Deal My Friends

Post by Tom Kessenich » Tue May 15, 2012 7:36 am

Those who follow me on Twitter know I've been pimping Russell Wilson for several months now. It's no surprise to me then that the Seahawks are now raving about him and plan to give him an opportunity to beat out Matt Flynn (Tarvaris Jackson? Yeah, right) for the starting job this season in Seattle. The Seahawks were blown away by how quickly Wilson picked up the playbook but those who follow the Badgers weren't surprised. Wilson did the exact same thing last year when he came to Wisconsin and quickly picked up all the nuances of the playbook and ran the offense effectively and smoothly all season long.

Do I expect him to win the job in Seattle when the season begins?

No I do not.

Do I expect him to be a good NFL starting quarterback at some point?

You bet I do.

Far too many scouts, NFL personnel people and critics focused intently on Wilson's height. I said for months that would be a huge mistake because it ignored the fact he does everything you want a pro quarterback to do. Let me repeat that. He does everything you want a pro quarterback to do. He has a good arm, can throw short, intermediate or downfield, he's very accurate, he knows how to go through his progressions, he throws well on the move and he's very mobile. Unlike many running QBs, though, Wilson doesn't take off at the first sign of trouble. Instead, he stands strong in the pocket and only looks to escape if he can't find an open receiver. When he does get out of the pocket his athleticism allows him to pick up big yardage.